

## Pryde's EasiFeed NCCA National Champion Rider Title Event

The PRYDE'S EasiFeed NCCA NATIONAL CHAMPION RIDER TITLE EVENT 2023 was during the Nutrien Classic at Tamworth. It was another fantastic effort by Nutrien hosting our event.

Where else would you get to compete for part of a \$25,000 Pryde's EasiFeed cash and prize pool, as well as a Championship Belt Buckle, a rug sponsored by the NCCA, a service fee to Kniepps Conray donated by Yarrawa Park Stock Horses, and round trophy rugs sponsored by Campdraft Training Online for ZERO entry fee! All you must do is finish in the top 5 riders of your association and be the Champion Lady Rider for your Association.

Thanks to all the Nutrien staff, Lachie Maxwell, and his team of yardmen, pencillers, side gate etc for all your hard work. Thanks to the many wonderful helpers that made the task of running the event so much easier. Having Steve Condell on board to commentate is a huge plus as he brings so much energy, professionalism, and knowledge to the event, so thank you again Steve for being on board for our event.

A HUGE THANK YOU to our cattle donors, Round 1 Ellerston Pastoral Company Round 2 D'Hudson Family Round 3 D J Thompson

Thank you to the Classic Ladies Foundation for supplying us with our wonderful Classic Ambassadors as our flag bearers. AUSTRALIAN FLAG – Jasmine Pryor NCCA FLAG – Mekayla Henning SCA FLAG – Meg Reed GCA FLAG – Sophie McCulloch ACA FLAG – Brook Smith ABCRA FLAG – Sarah Caslick

As we all know without the generous support of cattle donors, our event would not be possible. Thanks also to Martin's Stock Haulage for carting the cattle.

Once again this event was run with the ABCRA supplying complimentary membership for our riders using their system iCompete. Thank you to Craig Young, Scott Bone and Jaimee Quayle for all their assistance.

Our NCCA sponsor/competitor function was a great night, a great chance for all the riders, sponsors, and helpers to get together and the NCCA to thank their sponsors.

The event is staged over three rounds, with the highest total aggregate rider declared the winner. The top five riders and Champion Lady Rider from each of the four Campdrafting Associations in Australia being the Australian Campdrafting Association (ACA), Australian Bushman's Campdrafting and Rodeo Association (ABCRA), Southern Campdrafting Association (SCA) and Gippsland Campdrafting Association (GCA) coming together to compete against one another for the title of Pryde's Easifeed NCCA National Champion Rider.

The Round 1 winner was Rohan Marks from TEAM ACA riding Eden Vale Aramis taking the win after a run off with Peter Boulton from TEAM GCA. Congratulations to Vicki Hiscock from TEAM GCA taking out Round 2 riding her horse Mewburn Bamalam after a three way run off with GCA Team Members, Mat Holz and Bonnie Hiscock. The Round 3 win went to Jess Hoffmann riding Amrosie from TEAM ACA. The overall win after three rounds to take out the title of the Pryde's EasiFeed NCCA National Champion Rider Title 2023 was last year's winner Ben Hall riding Chisums Cash. Ben has also won this event in 2005 riding Reliable and again in 2015 riding Foot Acre

This event was again made possible with the large and continued support of Pryde's EasiFeed who donated cash and product to the value of \$25,000. All Associations join with the NCCA in thanking the Pryde's family for their generous sponsorship. Pryde's donated 160 bags of EasiGoing, with each team member receiving 5 bags each. The winner of each round received 5 bags, the Judges received 5 bags each and the Overall Winner received 10 bags.

Orla and Jess from Pryde's EasiFeed were on hand to present the winners after the final round.

John Davison from Davo's Whips each year donates a handcrafted 16 strand Kangaroo hide whip valued at \$600. Our judges are selected by the NCCA at our AGM by the delegates from each Association. This year Steve Comiskey and Steve Hart were selected and honoured to be chosen. The judges chose this year's winner of Davo's whips and it was won by ABCRA rider Sally Clarke from TEAM ABCRA for her horsemanship and presented by his son AJ. Davo has been a long-time supporter of this event and we thank him for his generous donation.

Each team has an opportunity for their association to select a charity of their choice with \$2,000 on offer to the winning team to donate.

Team GCA chose – Jack Ventry Family Fighting Leukemia , Team SCA chose Canteen, Team ACA chose Black Dog Institute and Team ABCRA chose Cancer Council Australia

The eventual Team win went to Team ACA. Well Done Team ACA and your charity Black Dog Institute.

Thanks everyone and Congrats to the winners and competitors that took part in the event for taking the time to travel to Tamworth. On a personal note I wish to thank everyone for their support and assistance as I step aside next year retiring from the position of Secretary/Treasurer of the NCCA. I have enjoyed my time in this position and met some wonderful people.

Team Totals ACA – 1265 GCA – 1252.5 ABCRA – 1222.5 SCA – 787

**2023 TEAMS** 



*Team ACA* Will Durkin - Captain Ben Hall Pete Comiskey Peter Black Rohan Marks Jess Hoffmann



*Team ABCRA* Troy Palmer – Captain Craig Ervine Adam Sadler Ben McNaughton Tony Mortimer Sally Clarke



*Team GCA* Ken Boulton - Captain Michael Hiscock Vicki Hiscock Bonnie Hiscock Mat Holz Peter Boulton



*Team SCA* Paige Nancarrow - Captain Ian Laurie David Murphy Simon Dodwell Jessica Jackson Callum Moore

## Winners and placegetters 1st – 8th Place

2023 Pryde's EasiFeed NCCA National Champion Rider results.

Round 1 Winner: Rohan Marks riding Eden Vale Aramis Round 2 Winner: Vicki Hiscock riding Mewburn Bamalam Round 3 Winner: Jess Hoffmann riding Amrosie

Final Placings after 3 rounds

$1^{ST}$	BEN HALL ACA	CHISUMS CASH	264
$2^{ND}$	MAT HOLZ GCA	TARRAWAY GRACE	263.5
3 <sup>RD</sup>	ROHAN MARKS ACA	EDEN VALE ARAMIS	261.5
$4^{\mathrm{TH}}$	MICHAEL HISCOCK GCA	DOLLY	252
$5^{\mathrm{TH}}$	CRAIG ERVINE ABCRA	TARRAWAY RAINEY	248
$6^{TH}$	JESS HOFFMANN ACA	AMROSIE	247.5
$7^{\mathrm{TH}}$	TONY MORTIMER ABCRA	LITTLE ABBY	244
$8^{\mathrm{TH}}$	BONNIE HISCOCK GCA	MEWBURN PARK BEWICK	196